8th June 2023

Valletta IZIBET claimed the 2023 GħĠS Cup in a seasonal Water polo opener final organised by the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta.

The GħĠS Cup final (Malta Sports Journalists Association Cup) was contested this year by the two main protagonists of last year’s First Division namely Marsaskala ESC and Valletta IZIBET. It was the latter who came out victorious in a nail-biting finale whereby Valletta IZIBET trailed 9-8 against Marsaskala ESC for what proved to be a grand opener for the 2023 Summer National League.

Valletta IZIBET had amongst their ranks their two new foreign players namely Andrija Vlahovic and Ivan Nagaev whilst Marsaskala ESC on the other hand also gave the debut to their two new foreign recruits Bence Batori and Ferenc Salamon.

After the match Sandro Micallef President of the Malta Sports Journalists Association presented the GħĠS 2023 Cup to Valletta IZIBET’s captain Daniel Paolella.

The Malta Sports Journalists Association congratulates Valletta IZIBET for this achievement and also congratulates San Giljan JP Projects for winning the 2023 President’s Cup which was held later in the evening in the National Pool Complex.

The Malta Sports Journalists Association wishes the best of luck to all the twelve participating teams in this summer’s National ASA League.

Photo caption: Valletta Izibet Captain Daniel Paolella is presented with the GħĠS 2023 Trophy by Malta Sports Journalists Association President Sandro Micallef.

Photos: Domenic Aquilina