Ħamrun Spartans FC were presented with the coveted Team of the Year Trophy after their recent triumph at the 63rd edition of the SportMalta Awards Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali.

The presentation was made on Saturday prior to the BOV Premier League match kick off between Ħamrun Spartans and G/ira United.

Ħamrun Spartans won the Team of the Year Award during the last edition of the SportMalta Awards which was organised by the Malta Sports Journalists Association together with SportMalta. This edition covered the sporting achievements of the year 2022.

The presentation of the trophy was done by Malta Sports Journalists Association President Sandro Micallef to Ħamrun Spartans’ captain Steve Borg in the presence of his team mates, officials in front of their numerous supporters who present at the National Stadium in Ta’ Qali.

This was only the third time that a football team was honoured as the Team of the Year during these awards. This title was previously won by Sliema Wanderers in 1996 and by Valletta FC in 1997.

The below are all the winners of the Team of the Year category since the introduction of this award:

1995 Shooting – Commonwealth Games Trap Team
1996 Football – Sliema Wanderers FC
1997 Football – Valletta FC
1998 Water Polo – Sliema Aquatic Sports Club
1999 Squash – National Team Women
2000 Water Polo- Sirens Aquatic Sports Club
2001 Sailing – Strait Dealer crew
2002 Water Polo – National Team ‘A’
2003 Basketball – National Team Women
2004 Rugby – National Team ‘A’
2005 Snooker – National Team ‘A’
2006 Powerboats – Chaudron Team
2007 Football – National Team ‘A’
2008 Powerboats – Chaudron Team
2009 Basketball – National Team Women
2010 Table Football – National Team Men
2011 Rugby – National Team ‘A’
2012 Mr. Whippy – Drag Racing Team
2013 Water Polo – National Team ‘A’
2014 Water Polo – National Team ‘A’
2015 Water Polo – National Team  ‘A’
2016 Football – National Team Men Under 21 (revoked)
2017 Water Polo – San Ġiljan ASC
2018 Basketball – National Team Men
2019 Sailing  – Elusive II
2020 Football – National Team Women
2021 Water Polo – National Team Men Under 15


Photos:  Jonathan Bugeja, Walter Sargent and Matthias Brancaleone