Atlas Insurance renewed its collaboration with the Malta Sports Journalists Association in relation to the Atlas Youth Athlete of the Month Awards for another year.

The initiative aimed at promoting young Maltese athletes was launched in January 2020 and has since evolved into a significant event within the local sports domain. It is further complemented with the Atlas Youth Athlete of the Year Award.

Matthew von Brockdorff, CEO and Managerial Director of Atlas Insurance commented: “ Over the previous years, the Atlas Youth Athlete Awards have celebrated the achievements of the younger athletes and brought them to the attention of the public, all the while encouraging participation in competitive sports and promoting positive role models for Maltese youth. Atlas Insurance takes great pride in reaffirming its dedication to this initiative, emphasizing our commitment to actively contribute to the wellbeing of youth and society.”

The President of the Malta Sports Journalists Association, Sandro Micallef, reiterated the importance of supporting young athletes as he remarked: “Excelling at sports is not an easy endeavour and being a young athlete brings with it many challenges. Acknowledging and rewarding the success of young athletes goes a long way in inspiring them to persevere in their efforts and giving exposure to various sports disciplines”.

Meanwhile, Atlas Insurance and the Malta Sports Journalists Association have also jointly agreed to start awarding two trophies monthly in the Atlas Youth Athlete of the Month Awards, one in recognition of  athletes’ local achievements and the other to reward accomplishments at international level. Sports associations, federations, and the general public can submit nominations for this award. Nominations for this award may be sent via email to

The rules and regulations of the award can be viewed on the website

Photo caption: Sandro Micallef (MSJA) and Matthew von Brockdorff (Atlas Insurance) following the renewal of the agreement of the Atlas Youth athlete of the Month Award.