The finalists of this year’s Sport Malta Awards Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali were announced. This event is aimed to acknowledge the sporting achievements acquired during the year 2022. A total of 59 journalists who are members of the Malta Sports Journalists Association had to cast their vote for the six finalists in each category. SportMalta Awards will also acknowledge the best two athletes of Special Olympics Malta and the Best Initiative for the Organization of an International Event in Malta, with the latter chosen by the Executive Committee of the Malta Sports Journalists Association. The public can also participate in the People’s Choice Award.

During a press conference held at the Teddie Borg Hall at SportMalta’s Cottonera Sports Complex, which was transmitted live on social media, the President of the Malta Sports Journalists Association, Sandro Micallef said that he’s satisfied with the members’ participation in the voting process and hopes that the final choice really reflects the achievements acquired by the athletes, coaches, teams, and officials throughout the year 2022.

Micallef added that the international guests for the awards ceremony are Gianfranco Coppola AIPS Europe EC Member and President of Sports Journalists Association Italy, Gyorgy Szollosi AIPS Europe Vice President and President of Sports Journalists Association Hungary, Mikaelo Papadakis General Secretary of the Cyprus Sports Journalists Association and Tanya Blake, the gold medals winner in the GSSE held in Malta in 2003 and represented Malta in the Summer Olympics in Athens in 2004.

The General Secretary of the Malta Sports Journalists Association, Lorraine Cunningham appealed to all finalists, coaches and their family members not to try and influence journalists in their final voting. Such individuals will be disqualified immediately from voting.

The 63rd edition of the SportMalta Awards of this year will be held on Saturday, 25th February at the Sir Temi Zammit Hall within the University of Malta, which will be transmitted live on TVM Sport + starting at 8 p.m. with the with the Red Carpet followed by the Awards Ceremony.

The finalists of the 63rd edition are:

Sportsman of the Year

Isaac Bezzina – Judo

Cliferty Calleja – Horse Racing

Kurt Farrugia – Para Rowing

Dejan Grech – Eight Ball Pool

Jake Tanti – Water Polo

Jeremy Zammit– Long Jump (Athletics)

Sportswoman of the Year

Ella Borg – Gymnastics

Francesca Curmi – Tennis

Katryna Esposito – Judo

Janet Richard – Athletics

Colette Sultana – Squash

Tenishia Thornton – Weightlifting

Youth Athlete of the Year Men

Luke Bonello – Table Tennis

Chaylon Castaldi – Blackball

Alex Degabriele – Tennis

Alec Fenech – Water Polo

Nick Mercieca – Para Rowing

Nicholas Muscat – Ten Pin Bowling

Youth Athlete of the Year Women

Philippa Busuttil – Gymnastics

Kim Camilleri Laganà – Weightlifting

Sasha Gatt – Swimming

Zea Montfort – Artistic Swimming

Lijana Sultana – Squash

Tenishia Thornton – Weightlifting

Coach of the Year

Melania Bajada – Football

Mario Bonello – Athletics

Jesmond Caruana – Weightlifting

Anthony Farrugia – Water Polo

Karl Izzo – Water Polo

Damian Neill – Rugby

Official of the Year

Peter Balzan – Water Polo

Terry Camilleri – Snooker

Alan Grima – Handball

Ronnie Spiteri – Water Polo

Anna Vassallo – Taekwondo

Rhona Xerri – Rugby

Team of the Year

National Senior Men’s Team – BASKETBALL

National Men Doubles Team – BLACKBALL

National U/25 Men’s Team – EIGHT BALL POOL

Ħamrun Spartans – FOOTBALL

National Senior Men’s Team – WATER POLO

National u/16 Boys’ Team – WATER POLO