Wednesday 7th August 2019

Maltco Lotteries presented financial support to the SportMalta Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali winners. These athletes have been awarded with their respective title back in February for their 2018 achievements during the SportMalta Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali event which was organised by SportMalta together with the Malta Sports Journalists Association.

Maltco Lotteries have been supporting this event for the past years. “Apart from being one of the main sponsors of the yearly SportMalta Awards event, Maltco also provides the winners with a financial support as an encouragement and incentive to pursue further in their sports career” affirmed Maltco Lotteries CEO, Mr Vasileios Kasiotakis.

The President of the Malta Sports Journalists Association, Mr Sandro Micallef thanked Maltco Lotteries for their continuous support not only towards the SportMalta Awards Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali but also for their ongoing and unparalleled support for the developing of Sport in Malta.

Mr Micallef remarked that preparations for the 2020 edition of the SportMalta Awards are already underway with a special edition that will coincide also with the 60th anniversary since the first edition of the Sportiv tas-Sena which was organised way back in 1960 and also the 50th Anniversary since the foundation of the Għaqda Kittieba Sports back in 1970.

The following are the winners who benefitted from Maltco Lotteries’ financial support:
Brian Galea: Sportsman of the Year – Shooting
Eleanor Bezzina: Sportswoman of the Year – Target Shooting
Kijan Sultana: Male Youth of the Year – Squash
Sara Xuereb: Female Youth of the Year – Tenpin Bowling
Karl Izzo: Coach of the Year – Waterpolo
Anna Calleja: Official of the Year – Special Olympics
Men’s Basketball National Team: Team of the Year

Maltco Lotteries congratulates all the winners for their hard work and dedication and encourages more athletes to invest in their sports career.