Four individual athletes, a coach, an official and a local Club were officially presented their financial assistance from Maltco Lotteries following their success earlier this year at the Feb 2018 SportMalta Awards Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali.
This contest which is organised jointly by the Malta Sports Journalists Association and SportMalta, honours the best local athletes and officials who would have distinguished themselves with tangible results both locally and internationally.
During the presentation Mr Vasilev Kasiotakis CEO of Maltco Lotteries said that the company was proud to be associated with this event. He added that the direct financial assistance to the winners is a realistic confirmation that Maltco Lotteries is committed to keep assisting local sports. Mr Kasiotakis reiterated that he is proud that Maltco Lotteries is setting the agenda for direct sponsorship towards the benefit of local sports. He encouraged other companies from the private sector to follow Maltco’s policy.
Accompanying the athletes and officials was also Mr Sandro Micallef President of the Malta Sports Journalists Association. Mr Micallef thanked Maltco Lotteries and Mr Kasiotakis in person for their commitment to the SportMalta Awards Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali. Micallef added that this presentation comes at an interesting time where Maltese Sports is being pushed and given priority in the Government’s agenda with direct reference to local sports also from the Prime Minister himself.
The financial assistance was presented to the below:
Sportsman of the Year: Duncan Micallef – Top Fuel Drag racing
Sportswomen of the Year: Yazmin Zammit Stevens – Weightlifting
Youth Male Athlete: Edward Xuereb – Tenpin Bowling 
Youth Female Athlete: Sara Xuereb – Tenpin Bowling 
Official of the Year: Paul Sultana – President Malta Basketball Association Coach of the Year: Angela Adamoli – Women Basketball National Team 
Team of the Year: San Ġiljan ASC Waterpolo 
The next edition of the SportMalta Awards Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali will be held on Saturday 23rd February 2019 in which Maltese athletes will be awarded for their achievement during the 2018 sporting calendar year.