By Charles Camenzuli : AIPSEurope Secretary General

MALTA , December 31, 2013 – For the first time in his career, MO FARAH – one of the leading figures in the athletics world and for the third time in her carreer Russian pole vaulter YELENA ISINBAYEVA are the winners in the 2013 Edition of the European Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards .

It was the 31st annual poll conducted by the AIPS – EUROPE as the biggest continental section of AIPS and was established in 1977 at the AIPS Congress in Milano Marittima.

Since 2003, the annual poll was named the Frank Taylor Trophy in honour of the former president of both AIPS and UEPS.

MO FARAH, runner up in last year’s edition got a total of 58 votes ahead of Rafael Nadal (tennis) with 49 votes, Formula1 champion Sebastian Vettel with 44 votes and France football player Franck Ribery with 42 votes

The women’s award for the Evgen Bergant Trophy was won for the third time by Russian athlete YELENA ISINBAYEVA with 56 votes ahead of Slovenian Tina Maze with 49 votes followed by Russian swimmer Julia Efimova with 41 votes and Ruta Meilutyte of Lithuania with 36 votes. Isinbayeva won this title already in 2005 and 2008



MEN – Frank Taylor Trophy

2013 Mo Farah (Great Britain) athletics

2012 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) tennis

2011 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) tennis

2010 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2009 Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis

2008 Rafael Nadal (Spain) tennis

2007 Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis

2006 Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis

2005 Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis

2004 Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis

2003 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2002 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2001 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2000 Pieter van Hoogenband (Netherland) swimming

1999 Tomas Dvorak (Czech Republic) athletics

1998 Bjoern Daehlie (Norway) cross country skiing

1997 Wilson Kipketer (Denmark) athletics

1996 Alexander Popov (Russia) swimming

1995 Jonathan Edwards (Great Britain) athletics

1994 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

1993 Linford Christie (Great Britain) athletics

1992 Vitaly Scherbo (Commonwealth of the Independent States) gymnastics

1991 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union) athletics

1990 Lothar Matthaeus (Germany) football

1989 Boris Becker (Germany) tennis

1988 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union) athletics

1987 Stephen Roche (Ireland) cycling

1986 Boris Becker (Germany) tennis

1985 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union) athletics

1984 Michel Platini (France) football

1983 Michael Gross (Germany) swimming


WOMEN – Evgen Bergant Trophy

2013 Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) athletics

2012 Jessica Ennis (Great Britain) athletics

2011 Federica Pellegrini (Italy) swimming

2010 Blanka Vlasic (Croatia) athletics

2009 Blanka Vlasic (Croatia) athletics

2008 Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) athletics

2007 Justine Henin (Belgium) tennis

2006 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium) tennis

2005 Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) athletics

2004 Kelly Holmes (Great Britain) athletics

2003 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium) tennis

2002 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium) tennis

2001 Svetlana Khorkina (Russia) gymnastics

2000 Inge de Bruijn (Netherland) swimming

1999 Gabriela Szabo (Romania) athletics

1998 Larissa Lazutina (Russia) cross-country skiing

1997 Martina Hingis (Switzerland) tennis

1996 Svetlana Masterkova (Russia) athletics

1995 Steffi Graf (Germany) tennis

1994 Manuela Di Centa (Italy) cross-country skiing

1993 Franziska van Almsick (Germany) swimming

1992 Krisztina Egerszegi (Hungary) swimming

1991 Monica Seles (Yugoslavia) tennis

1990 Katrin Krabbe (Germany) athletics

1989 Steffi Graf (Germany) tennis

1988 Kristin Otto (GDR) swimming

1987 Steffi Graf (Germany) tennis

1986 Heike Drechsler (GDR) athletics

1985 Marita Koch (GDR) athletics

1984 Marja-Liisa Kirvesniemi (Finland) cross-country skiing

1983 Jarmila Kratochvilova (Czechoslovakia) athletics