On Thursday 7th March in the afternoon the winners of the 59th edition of the SportMalta Awards were invited to meet H.E. The President of Malta Marie Louise Coleiro Preca at San Anton Palace.

These athletes were accompanied by the Chairman of the Organising Committee and CEO of SportMalta Mark Cutajar as well as The President and General Secretary of The Malta Sports Journalists Association Sandro Micallef and Lorraine Cunningham.

Also present was the Parliamentary Secretary for Youth, Sport and Voluntary Organisations Hon. Clifton Grima as well as the Opposition’s Speaker for Sport Hon. Ryan Callus.

Both Mark Cutajar and Sandro Micallef thanked H.E. for finding time to meet these winners who have made our Nation proud with their sporting success whilst their achievements were recognised with the honours won during the SportMalta Awards ceremony.

SportMalta and The Malta Sports Journalists Associations also took the occasion to thank H.E. Marie Louise Coleiro Preca for including sport in the activities organised by the Malta Community Chest Fund and hoped that these activities will continue to be organised taking the opportunity to state that they are willing to continue the collaboration with her successor.