Duncan Micallef was crowned Malta’s Sportsman of the Year for 2017 during the annual SportMalta Awards organised by the Malta Sports Journalists Association in collaboration with Malta’s sport regulatory entity SportMalta.

Micallef who was crowned European FIA Top Fuel Dragster Champion in 2017  managed to secure an impressive vote from the panel of Sports Journalists to win this award for the second consecutive year. 

The Sportswomen award was won for the first time by emerging Maltese Weightlifter Yazmin Zammit Steven who in 2017 managed to break over 35 national records in her category 63kg and also managed to qualify for the 2018 Commonwealth Games to be held in the Gold Coast in Australia.

The other winners of the 58th edition of the SportMalta Awards Ghazliet Sportivi Nazzjonali were:

Youth Male Athlete of the year: 

Edward XUEREB – Malta Tenpin Bowling Association

Youth Female Athlete of the year: 

Sara XUEREB – Malta Tenpin Bowling Association

Official of the Year: 

Paul SULTANA President Malta Basketball Association: 

Coach of the Year:

Angela ADAMOLI – Women’s National Basketball team 

Team of the Year:

San Ġiljan ASC: Waterpolo 

People’s Choice Award: 

Ella Borg – Gymnastics

International Event of the Year:

Malta Racing Club (Horse racing)

Special Olympics Awards:

Rodney Gauci – Football

Yowanna Vassallo – Bocce 

The Awards ceremony was presided by the Parliamentary Secretary for Youth, Sport and Voluntary Organizations Dr Clifton Grima along with Malta Sports Journalist President Sandro Micallef. AIPS Europe President Charles Camenzuli and Italian Paralympic Athlete Giusy Versace were the guests of honour during this National Awards ceremony which was also broadcasted live on Malta’s National TV Channel.

Photos: Joe Borg
More photos in the link below: