The 58th edition of the SportMalta Awards – Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali organised by the Malta Sports Journalists Association and SportMalta will take place tomorrow at the Mediterranean Conference Centre in Valletta.

Through a jury composed of representatives of local sports media, the event will award athletes in seven different categories for their achievements during 2017.

The five finalists in the Young Sports Man of the Year category are Francesca Curmi (Tennis), Francesca Falzon Young (Swimming), Shelby Mangion Vassallo (Weightlifting), Helene Pellicano (Tennis) and  Sara Xuereb (Ten Pin Bowling).

The finalists in the Young Sports Woman of the Year category are Jurgen Balzan (Table Football), Jacob Sciberras (Swimming), Kijan Sultana (Squash), Thomas G Woods Jr. (Triathlon) and Edward Xuereb (Ten Pin Bowling).

The last five in the Team of the Year category are National Team Women ‘A’ 4 x 100m (Atlethics), National Team Women ‘A’ (Basketball), Giordmaina Racing Team (Motor Bikes – Drag Racing), National Team Mixed ‘A’ (Ten Pin Bowling) and San Ġiljan ASC (Waterpolo).

The five coaches contesting the Coach of the Year award are Angela Adamoli (Basketball), Jimmy Bugeja (Shooting) Jesmond Giordmaina (Lotta), Noel Merceica (Kickboxing) and Damien Neil (Rugby).

The finalists in the Official of the Year category are Joe Bajada (Cycling), Jesmond Caruana (Weightlifting), Saviour Portelli (Shooting), Paul Sultana (Basketball) and Bernard Vassallo (Basketball).

The Sports Woman of the Year will be contested by Sue Abela (Ten Pin Bowling), Rachel Cuschieri (Football), Christina Grima (Basketball), Charlotte Wingfield (Athletics) and Yazmin Zammit Stevens (Weightlifting).

Last but not least, the final five in the Sports Man of the Year category are  Noel Baldacchino (Horseracing), Gianluca Chetcuti (Shooting), Aaron Ciantar (Powerboats), Anton Cushieri (Pool), Duncan Micallef (Drag Racing) and Andre’ Schembri (Football).

Apart from these awards, two special awards for athletes with different needs, and one special award for the international event of the year will be awarded during the awards final ceremony.

The public can also vote for The People’s Choice Award through SportMalta’s website The finalists for the People’s Choice Award are Matthew Abela (Badminton Malta), Joe Bajada (Malta Cycling Federation), Ella Borg (Malta Gymnastics Federation), Steven Fenech (Malta Wheelchair Dancesport Association) and Matthew Zammit (Aquatic Sports Association of Malta).

The ecvent will be hosted by Clinton Buhagiar and Catherine Micallef, and will be broadcast live on TVM2. The live transmission will start at 8pm and includes red carpet interviews.